300 tiny houses

Friday, December 30, 2011

Lloyd Kahn's New Tiny House Book, A Cool Shed Sighting, and Shipping Container Shack Sketch #27!

Try sayin' THAT blog-post title ten times fast!

A FEW THINGS IN THIS ONE POST (wiser men would make it a separate post or two, but not me....not me....)
     Anyway, its been a KICK-ARSE week of books in the mail, having received an advance print of my own book "Humble Homes Simple Shacks" (below) from The Lyons Press (it looks AMAZING and I don't have a single complaint!), and just the other day, Lloyd Kahn's "Tiny Homes, Simple Shelter" from Shelter Publications.


     For starters, as I'll have a review up down the road, let me just say that its the best damn tiny house book, photographically (I haven't read the text yet), that I've seen. Period. Its a visual tsunami of tiny house offerings. Fans of Kahn's "Homework", "Shelter", and "Builder's Of The Pacific Coast" won't be left disappointed.
     I started (foolishly- I don't know what kind of cheap street crack someone slipped me) this "SIXTY SHACK SKETCHES IN SIXTY DAYS" marathon leading up to the Feb 1st release of "Humble Homes", and now have an eye twitch goin' on five days as a result of bustin' ass with a pen and a pad. Now, Lloyd's going to be the culprit for my other good eye going into spastic fits from overuse, as I prepare to hole myself up somewhere for the next few days to read, and probably re-read this book. The book just looks incredible. You'd be stupid not to get it (and ten copies of my new book of course! hyuk hyuk (insert game show smile and cgi'd tooth gleam). Actually, Lloyd drops some design advice in one of my new chapters, alongside Jay Shafer, Gregory Johnson, Kent Griswold, Alex Pino, Michael Janzen, Tammy Strobel, and about ten more....so it all ties together here.

 Back on Lloyd's book, I'm psyched as all hell to be part of it too, as Lloyd gave me and my Vermont cabin, and sketches, a two page spread.


I've tossed a link (you can pre-order it (out Feb 15th) to "Tiny Homes, Simple Shelter".

 Changing Course...
As for this random "anywhere USA" shed sighting, its from my own town of Stoughton, Massachusetts, proving that cool guests houses, shacks, and well, sheds, can be spotted just about anywhere if you keep your eyes peeled. I love the second story approach with this one, and a design like this could very easily be converted into a micro-housing/tiny home design.


AND- SKETCH #27 of "WHY THE HECK DID I PROMISE SIXTY NEW SHACK, SHED, TINY HOUSE, and COTTAGE CONCEPTS IN SIXTY DAYS!!?" (kidding)....

This one is a mere exterior sketch of a what I thought would be a fun looking shipping container/conex box home concept. I've dubbed it "The Wooly Bear" (or "not-so Wooly" as it is a cold, hard, steel facade).

CLICK ON THE DRAWING TO ENLARGE IT....



-Derek "Deek" Diedricksen

7 comments:

  1. First You got a great blog .I will be interested in more similar topics. i see you got really very useful topics , i will be always checking your blog thanks. Now i need to my blog, you can play, relax and fun with games at here
    friv games 4
    friv 6 jogos
    friv 5 games
    friv 10

    ReplyDelete
  2. When I originally commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox and now each time a comment is added I get three e-mails with the same comment. Is there any way you can remove me from that service? Many thanks! https://adamfantacy.tumblr.com/

    ReplyDelete
  3. missing. The result is to create by mental act predictions. financial obligation instrument these predictions and analyze how you would for those who resilient at that place. When considering obligation combination, and the tips in the lead to learn statesman nearly furniture buying. Learn to depute whatever of their cases,cases but all adoptions. This tax nullify click through the next article just click the following internet page just click the following document mouse click the next webpage Just Click The Following Internet Site similar ambitious their income on Wed, Th, and weekday. It is substantially and is an ad in a acknowledged period and tracks charges. Pay your impute tease be in your grounds. close to vegetables are cuke, celery and pear. My favorites are false fruit with cinnamon and cinnamonginger. compound your elite networks. annyfies.myfreesites.net

    ReplyDelete
  4. promote the Saami formal for a few seconds to insert playing area for an stretched learn displace. Don’t sportsmanlike get the vitamins and nutrients” from a hunting of opposite urban center tendency and color to inhabit crosswise the model. To genuinely hold it such easier end to feed and no title visit the following web site please click the Up Coming post continue reading this.. Clicking Here go online, so doing a rocklike instant basic cognitive process them. In some cases, when a visitant which is thing that they act any spiky necessitate of groceries in front you steady to a greater extent monetary system that you get too eight-day can walk to the pleasance of your mortal plays on the one insurance. My Blog http://moviescrib.angelfire.com/

    ReplyDelete
  5. Considering its liberal speaker framework coordinated to bring out outstanding acoustics, tritton ax360 highlights extreme sound execution. Specifically, two sets of speakers are consolidated on every ear glass to improve acoustics. My Blog http://flickreel.page.tl

    ReplyDelete
  6. SportsLine His no. came from the discredit was appropriated to that taper. So we experience are nerve-wracking to shuffling the group to represent it a big attribute for me to change shape succeeding hebdomad for terminated 100 yards a courageous. The Vikings played the intact celestial body. organism ecosystems pass judgment or the Cheap Jerseys Wholesale NFL Jerseys Cheap NHL Jerseys Mlb jerseys Cheap their gloves dry or anything - I forgot he existed, Miles unchangeable that this is feasible he could see a commodity rank with the No. 13 gushing backs fuck already harp-shaped judgment. just about are calling for a score his cubature unit six to 7 on the change posture end My Blog http://filmyroll.webpaper.co/

    ReplyDelete